Seven Factors of Awakening–Elements of Concentration

Topics Include: 1) Understanding the breath as the fountain for the meditation process. The four teachings of the Buddha on developing concentration. 2) The first teaching: being aware of the breath. Different methods for focussing on the breath. 3) Being aware of the difference between focussing on the breath and being caught up in our thoughts. 4) The second teaching: being aware of the quality of the breath. Learning to appreciate the level of refined attention required in the meditation process. 5) Understanding the four parts of the complete breath cycle. 6) Understanding our mental attitude as we observe the breath. 7) Seeing the importance of relaxation in our practice and in everyday life. 8) The third teaching: developing strong one pointedness of mind.
Honolulu, Hawaii
March 30, 2019
45 minutes

Leave a Reply