Seven Factors of Awakening–Concentration Jhanic States

Topics Include: 1) What is the fundamental purpose of meditation and the role of concentration? 2) Understanding the relationship between concentration and insight in the meditation process. 3) Outlining the overall structure of jhanic attainment: the material jhanas and the formless jhanas. 4) The five elements of the jhanic process: vitakka, initial attention; vicara, sustained attention; piti, rapture; sukha, bliss; and ekkagata, one pointedness. 5) The description of the eight jhanic states. 6) The origins of the Mahasi lineage based on his interpretation of the jhanic states.
Honolulu, Hawaii
February 9, 2019
57 minutes

Leave a Reply